Avenged


I have tried to keep spoilers out of this entry.

I hate 3D. It’s the biggest, wettest carrot on the weakest stick. 3D exists only to inflate prices at the box office and sell you a TV you don’t need. What I also take issue with is this trend of converting movies into 3D after the filming. I believe that Clash of the Titans was and so now this Avengers movie. This is not why I go to the cinema. I don’t understand why entry to a converted 3D movie should cost more either. Holographic TVs? Sure, I maybe interested but 3D?

Never.

I really didn’t want to watch Avengers Assemble in 3D. But when the cinema you choose has only 2 screens -3 being refurbished – you don’t have much choice.

So Thursday came but I didn’t hold high hopes for Avengers Assemble. The Avengers wasn’t a comic book that I ever read. I wasn’t interested in Captain America, Iron Man or Thor. My normal reads were Spiderman, X-Men and Daredevil but the character that caught my imagination the most was the Hulk. This wasn’t just from the comic book either. The Incredible Hulk TV show from the late 70s was something I’d hate to miss on a Saturday afternoon. I loved the characters that Bill Bixby and Lou Ferrigno(who voices the Hulk in Avengers Assemble) brought to life in this show, even if it was only loosely based on the Marvel comic book. Back then this was the superhero show to watch, the movies were not such a great option. Now that Marvel have acquired their own studios we are seeing some very well made superhero movies.

After watching Avengers Assemble, I’d have to say that Joss Whedon has reignited my love for the Banner/Hulk dynamic. Mark Ruffalo is far better a Banner than either Eric Bana or Ed Norton and I didn’t care much for either of their two recent Hulk outings. The Hulk’s appearance in this Avengers movie did have me a little worried. I was convinced that it would be hammy and overblown. How wrong could I be? From the first exposure to the action scenes at the end, the Hulk is treated with some real affection. There’s a real understanding on how to get the best from the volatile nature of the Hulk’s ego. There’s also some excellent use of humour in the old green skins armoury but I daren’t say more to spoil things for those yet to see it.

Best movie I’ve seen this year.

‘Nuff Said.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: The Avengers – Review « So…Nitemice

  2. Pingback: thevisionaryfilmfanatic

Leave a Reply

