Happy? Index 1.15


So the first quarter of 2012 is done. I’ve logged all my entertainment activities from the quarter to give myself an overview  of my personal sanctuary. Something I touched on in my first entry here in March. OK, I’m not naive enough to believe my mental wellbeing can be truly gauged by how much entertainment I’m devouring. What I will concede is if I’m in a period of low mood, I will not be as appreciating the values of comic books, movies, TV shows or videogames. This quarterly index could be an invaluable resource over time.

  • Sites in my reader: Not many personal bloggers in my feed reader. Many have moved over to G+ while others have begun a hiatus. Those that keep me amused still are; Oh you Beauty – excellent observations by Nate on all things LFC and although I’ve read a few other ‘Journal’ type blogs recently there’s nothing I’m really reading from my feed. Real shame that.
  • Magazine Subscriptions: Empire & Edge. With Four Four Two & Wired both expired with no plans to renew. Four subscriptions is definitely two too many. Wired has a website I can read and with the EPL coming to a close I dropped FFT but still follow them via Twitter.
  • Movies watched: 12. Best of the bunch was Drive. I can see Ryan Gosling as an Avenger one day.
  • Comic books: 3 current subs are Daredevil, Saucer Country and Batwoman. The mini-series that is Spaceman only has a few issues to go, yet I still have only read the first. Saucer Country is 2 issues old and has been excellent and well conceived. Mark Waid’s Daredevil is a pure joy and have now read issues 1 through to 10.1. I’ll be reading some Irredeemable – also by Waid – very soon. Batwoman I still have to catch up on with new sub, Mind MGMT, yet to arrive. Very full basket on the comics front! I’ve even polished off Chew volume 2 TPB and The Walking Dead volume 6 TPB with volume 7 waiting for me in the wings.
  • Books read: zero. Am still reading The Host but my reading of it has taken a dip since I’ve caught up with my comic book subs.
  • Music: Slowly treading some old ground here. Went to my first gig in at least 10 years plus an excellent third album by Blood Red Shoes released. I missed out on seeing them live but probably the October show at the Shepherds Bush Empire will be in my diary.
  • TV: Finally watched the first season of The Walking Dead. it got better as it went on and am made up that the second season starts on C5 here in the UK on Monday. Elsewhere Silent Witness season 15 began really well but the BBC decided to mess with the order, dropping the 2nd two-parter of the season due to them wimping out over similarities to a real case. No mention was made at the time and to bolt on a previous seasons two-parter – Bloodlines – at the end of the run is very poor.

And finally…

  • Games: Completed Crysis 2, Mass Effect 2 and The Walking Dead A New Day this quarter. The Walking Dead game was a real surprise. Very endearing and pays close attention to the comic book/TV show. Diablo 3 and Max Payne 3 will be rubbing shoulders for my attention in May. I dare not look further than that for sake of my sanity. I also broke the 20k on XBL. Currently I have a gamerscore of 20044/140555 with 1194/6462 achievements. Buzzzz…

…Time out!

Leave a comment